The Sweetest Goodbye

Tuesday.

It was raining still. I usually sleep in when it rains, but I knew I had to get up early. For some reason, I was up before my alarm went off, which rarely happens. I lay in bed staring at my glow in the dark bears. I checked the iPad and read through the messages in KakaoTalk that I missed when I fell asleep. I probably answered some of them, I don’t remember though. I got up and started my morning routine. I realized that I too, take 30 minutes to get ready, and I shouldn’t have complained when the boys asked for that much time. But then, I’m a girl. HAHA. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I tried to sleep in the car, on the way to Woodridge. I don’t know if I was able to, but most likely I did because my neck hurt. ๐Ÿ˜‰ As always, I arrived in Woodridge just around 7:30. Walking through the 4th floor hallway had been part of my routine for the past 4 weeks. As I climbed up to the 5th floor, I was half-hoping to see some of the students eating breakfast at the pantry. There were students alright, but not our students. As I walked down the hallway leading to 5D, I realized that Kuya Michael was right, it was all to quiet now.ย ย I stopped in front of 5D, stared at the door for a while before I got my key card and ย entered the room.

The silence in the dim hallway was deafening. I was half expecting Diane to come running down the hallway shouting “Dindin!”

5D. It was too quiet in the room. Way too quiet.

I looked around and put down my bag. I turned on the aircon, erased the writing on the board and headed out to use the restroom. It was locked (as usual).ย I wanted to go down and knock on 3G’s door to ask if I could use the restroom. But I knew that Diane (or Julie or Sujan or Dianna) would not be there to open the door for me. I walked back to the room and sat down. I checked my watch, 8:00am.ย I should get started.ย I never liked cleaning up. But today, it wasn’t a choice. I HAD to clean up.

(FYI: My bedroom is always a mess, somewhat close to the mess that was the boys’ room in 6I).

6I. Where Pam and I spent the last few mornings knocking and trying to get the boys to get ready for class.

I had to take a deep breath before I could start taking the decors down. I turned on the music so I wouldn’t have to listen to the deafening silence. On shuffle, the iPad played “The Sweetest Goodbye.” As the song played, I took pictures of the room before taking down the decor, like I promised the girls I would.

The girls described themselves using adjectives that start with the letters of their first name ๐Ÿ™‚

5D’s classroom decor. Yes girls, you are THE BEST. ๐Ÿ™‚

But as I took down the decors, I could hear my baby ducks’ laughter while they were teasing each other. I can hear Tia saying “baboy ka” and “matakaw” while Diane finishes off whatever treats I give them for the day. I hear Jiwon leading them in practicing “We Are the World,” ย just a few hours before the judging of the “Wall Decorating” contest (which they won!). I hear Diane and Tia singing “Listen” as Claire, Katherine and Jiwon call them “Crazy Girls.” I see them practicing “Teenage Dream,” and remember they taught me to dance too. (FYI: I DON’T DANCE.)

In less than 10 minutes, the walls were bare. Back to how it looked like on the first day. There was no sign of the girls being there (well except for the marks on the table).

Just as the song ended, I was done. I kept the shirt with my name on it, Diane’s autograph, and the sign that says 5D. I will put it up in my room. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Just like that, 5D became just a memory. A bittersweet memory.

These were the ones I brought home and set up in my room ๐Ÿ™‚

To my baby ducks, Diane, Tia, Katherine, Claire and Jiwon:

Mommy duck Dindin with baby ducks, Diane, Tia, Katherine, Claire and Jiwon. ๐Ÿ™‚

Thank you. You have given me the best 4 weeks of my 2012.

I miss you everyday. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

I โ™ฅ each and every one of you. ๐Ÿ™‚

One thought on “The Sweetest Goodbye

  1. Pingback: 2012 (The year the world didn’t end). « Confessions of a Fairy Princess

Leave a Reply

