I’m a carrot.

My dad sent this email to me yesterday.

A certain daughter complained to her father about her life and how things have been so hard for her. She did not know how she was going to make it and she wanted to give up. She was tired of fighting and struggling. It seemed that just as one problem was solved another arose.

Her father, a chef, took her to the kitchen, filled three pots with water and placed the fire on high. Soon the three pots came to a boil.

In one he placed carrots, in the other he placed eggs, and in the last he placed ground coffee beans. He let them sit and boil, without saying a word.

The daughter sucked her teeth and impatiently wondered what he was trying to do. She had problems, and he was making this strange concoction. In half an hour he walked over to the oven and turned down the fire. He pulled the carrots out and placed them in the bowl. He pulled the eggs out and placed them in the bowl. Then he ladled the coffee out and placed it in a bowl.

Turning to her he asked. "Darling what do you see,"

Smartly, she replied. "Carrots, eggs, and coffee."

He brought her closer and asked her to feel the carrots. She did and noted that they were soft. He then asked her to take an egg and break it. After pulling off the shell, she observed the hard-boiled egg. Finally, he asked her to sip the coffee. Her face frowned from the strength of the coffee.

Humbly, she asked. "What does it mean Father?"

He explained. "Each of them faced the same adversity, 212 degrees of boiling water. However each reacted differently."

"The carrot went in strong, hard, and unrelenting. But after going through boiling water, it softened and became weak."

"The egg was fragile. A thin outer shell protected a liquid center. But after sitting through the boiling water, its inside became hardened."

"The coffee beans are unique however. After they were in the boiling water, it became stronger and richer." "Which are you," he asked his daughter.

When adversity knocks on your door, how do you respond?

Are you a carrot, an egg, or a coffee bean?

Are you the carrot that seems hard, but with the smallest amount of pain, adversity, heat you wilt and become soft with no strength?

Are you the egg, which starts off with a malleable heart, a fluid spirit? But after a death, a breakup, a divorce, a layoff you became hardened and stiff. Your shell looks the same, but you are so bitter and tough with a stiff spirit and heart, internally.

Or are you like the coffee bean? The bean does not get its peak flavor and robust until it reaches 212 degrees Fahrenheit. When the water gets the hottest, it just tastes better. When things are there worst, you get better. When people talk the most, your praises increase. When the hour is the darkest, trials are their greatest, your worship elevates to another level.

How do you handle adversity? Are you a carrot, an egg, or a coffee bean?

After reading, I started thinking…and got to the conclusion that I am a carrot. Although I may seem to be a “hard” or “tough” person, pain is my enemy. It never fails to destroy my whole being. The smallest, shallowest kind of pain, has a lasting effect on me. It hurts…it really does. I break down and cry at the slightest indication of pain. My true friends know that. I need to take a break and let it all out. What they don’t know is the pain remains even after I cry my eyes out. It’s still there. It still hurts.

I am a carrot. Hard on the outside but when faced with pain, I lose all that and turn into mush. Mush, that’s what I am. Carrot mush.

5 thoughts on “I’m a carrot.

  1. This is an excellent blog you must have a great dad. I notice that you are looking for some blogging buddies, I would like it if you would like to be one with me. I blog about anything that comes to mind and also show some of my photography, not that I am a profession photographer it is just a hobby. Take a look at my blog and see what you think.
    Take care

    • Thank you very much. 🙂 I saw your blog and I love the pictures that you took especially of the birds and flowers! 🙂 I would love to be your blogging buddy. 🙂
      It was nice meeting you and I’m looking forward to reading and seeing more pictures from you 🙂

  2. Your dad must be an awesome person, assuming that that type of text is what he often emails you. My dad, on the rare occasion that he emails me, would send me a joke or fail photos and the like. Maybe he thinks I’m too serious or that I’m depressed. 😐

    This is an excellent post. And such a thought-provoking read. 🙂

    Most of the time, I, too, am a carrot. I’ll be the first to admit that my steely resolve in the face of adversity is all a front, an act, a show, for the benefit of those around me, who see me, and rely on my toughness. I do what I can to get through it all unscathed, but at the end of the day, when I am alone in my room, the troubles and hurts get to me and I have no other response but to break down and cry.

    And yet, sometimes, I am a coffee bean, during trials and tribulations when the tears and curses do not help. I can think of three separate occasions, spread out across my 23-year existence, when I managed to perform gracefully under tremendous pressure:

    1. In high school, I competed in an inter-division extemporaneous speaking competition, where there were 21 contestants, and I was the last to go up on stage. I won first place, despite having spent the entire day out and about (at the mall to see a movie), without a decent notion of the topic (drug addiction) and without a well thought out strategy going into the contest. My unpreparedness was due to my being called in by my English teacher to fill a void when our school’s supposed representative backed out at the last minute.

    2. In college, we had this theater production that people around campus referred to as “the play upped the ante” because of our play’s three enormous sets and the exquisite attention to detail in their designs. I was the head of the set design committee. In the three days of the play’s showing, I had a total of 5 hours of sleep, 3 decent meals, and 1 bath. Oh, and I think I wasn’t able to attend any of my classes during those three, long days.

    3. While working part-time as a stage manager in a massive theater production in Makati, I managed to save the day (thanks to my listening and observation skills mixed with a little bit of luck). A key performer was MIA, with her scene coming up in the next 5 minutes or so. The backstage was a pretty big place (more like a building of its own), so instead of trying to scour the place searching in vain and wasting precious seconds, I forced myself to remember the last time I saw her and realized that I was within earshot of her and her mom when they talked about heading home (which was a block from the play venue) for a quick retouch. I ran like the wind, as if my life depended on it (and it probably did), found her and got her back to the backstage with a little below a minute before her time to enter the stage.

    So, I guess my default setting is carrot, but when the stakes are highest, I am capable of being a coffee bean. 😀

    • Thank you for your comment. 🙂

      While I personally think my dad is awesome, I don’t think that the emails he sends are enough basis for that. 😉 My dad and I, well, it’s a whole different story and would probably take up a lot of writing space (although I have a draft of a post about my dad which I just haven’t gotten to finishing yet). 🙂

      I guess there will be occasions when one can be either of the three – a carrot, an egg or a coffee bean. Maybe we just need to figure out when we must be a coffee bean. I’ll try and think about all the things that has happened to me and maybe, just maybe, I’ll find times when I’ve done better during times of trials. If and when I do come up with something, I’ll be sure to post it here. 🙂

      Again, thank you for your comment. It was nice meeting you. 🙂

      • Pleasure. I just re-read my earlier comment, and I realized that it looks a bit lengthy. 😀

        Anyway, best of luck on posting that draft about your dad and those times when you’ve done better in the trials you faced. I’ll be waiting for them to be published. After reading, I will once again offer my two cents, with your permission of course. 😉

        Oh, you’re most welcome, dear. Nice meeting you as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

